Reviews

Google Reviews All the comments below have come from people who have commissioned me, or bought a painting. You can also see some of the same comments by clicking here (or on the image to the left) which will take you to my Google verified reviews page. In order to leave a google review, you have to have (or create) a google account. Therefore, not all the reviews below are on Google.
Andrew – December 2023

“I bought one Cy’s paintings to give as a birthday present and Cy was more than happy to add a message to the painting’s background video.

Cy showed care and concern for the birthday present project well above and beyond the normal duties of an artist, thank you.

The painting itself is truly magnificent and I can smell the landscape that has been painted. Photographs of it do not do it justice and fail to capture the masterful skill with which Cy blends ink, paint and raw canvas.”

Annette – December 2023

“Cy’s body of work must surely speak for itself of his skill and artistry – it is, quite simply, stunning!

And the beauty of the art work is matched by the high quality of his personal attention to customer service.”
Cota Rican Cloud Forest
Jonathan Mann – October 2023

“I had the pleasure of meeting Cy at The Mall Galleries in London in September 23 for his David Shepherd Wildlife Artist of the year solo exhibition and immediately loved the style of Cy’s work, clearly with a focus and care on the details of the landscape the wildlife lives in, and the impact of black biro with oil creates. I also really enjoyed talking to and seeing Cy work on a piece and a glimpse into seeing how a painting gets created. The Costa Rican Cloud Forest limited edition print, printed on an sheet aluminium dibond sheet and mounted on aluminium really compliments the piece and looks amazing on my wall at home, which I can’t stop gazing into.”

Steve Bromley – July 2023

“I saw Cy at the New Forest Show and just had to buy the work I saw. I’m happy to say I have it and love it, incredible art. Also, Cy was brilliant at arranging the delivery, despite many challenges (nothing to to do with him). Thanks Cy, will be back for more!”

Charlie Portrait
Peggy and Chris – October 2022

Peggy
My husband is a huge Cy Baker fan and we have several of his pieces. Nobody gets to leave our home without getting to admire his work, and I suspect my husband may even judge our guests on whether they’re suitably effusive about Cy’s art!

When Charlie, our standard poodle and my husband’s shadow, was poorly, I secretly commissioned Cy to create a portrait of him. Sadly, Charlie died before the portrait was complete, which made the unexpected gift even more special. On unwrapping it, my husband cried, “It’s my boy!” 
Everyone who has since walked into the room where the portrait is displayed stops in their tracks, and with an expression of hushed awe, says, “It’s Charlie”.
 
Chris
Cy is an exceptional artist who has developed a unique style. How he is able to create such stunning work with only a biro I will never know!
He is the only artist from whom we have several pieces in our home, the latest being a commission of our late dog, Charlie. It is a truly wonderful image that captures Charlie perfectly and brings me joy every time I look at it.
I can’t recommend Cy highly enough!
Jaguar Commission
Ros and John – May 2022

Wow, and again Wow !!

What an absolute triumph.
 
The finished result is magnificent and absolutely ‘spot on’ ! We were more than happy to leave the final decision in your very capable hands as we knew you would do it justice, which of course you have in bucket loads and we cannot put into words how lucky we consider ourselves to have met you that very first time at Blenheim Palace and subsequently when we asked you to do our first commission. We just knew when we hung our elephant & calf on the wall that we wanted a second commission done to hang on the same wall.
 
Our sincerest thanks to you once again and we will treasure both our ‘works of art’ and enjoy looking at them countless times throughout the days, months and years to come. 
 
Original Marrakesh Man
Mark – October 2021

“I love him!

Can’t stop looking at his expression.
 
Thank you very much.”
Claire – July 2021

“I recently purchased two prints from Cy – the New Forest and Shelter, absolutely stunning. I am so pleased with them and love the personal touch you get from Cy. I would definitely recommend.”

Jackie – May 2021

“I know I have said it before, but my Mum and Dad would have been absolutely bowled over by what you have done and appreciate it as much as I do.
I look at the picture so many times during the day and smile every time!”

Ros – February 2021

“I sent an image of your artwork to my daughter and she said she was ‘absolutely thrilled’ and that ‘she couldn’t have wanted a better present’. So, there we are – a happy customer!”

Wayne – October 2020

“Just want to let you know I felt like a kiddy at Christmas today receiving two separate parcels with our artworks.  We have been so looking forward to receiving them and needless to say we are not disappointed.  In fact, far from it, they are both absolutely stunning.  If what they say about the pen being mightier than the sword then you my friend must be a deadly assassin in the world of art. Your skill is truly astonishing.  

We considered a number of artists with works of big cats in similar poses to the snow leopard, but none (and there were quite a few) captivated us in a way this one does and I suspect your unique medium is part of that.
 
I could write endless praise for your works but I’m sure its nothing you haven’t heard before so I’ll spare you the fanatical fan mail and end by saying a massive thank you. We wish you much success in your future endeavours and will be looking forward to seeing your 2021 entry to the DSWF Artist of the year competition.”
 
Gary Hodges – June 2020

Gary Hodges is a truly wonderful pencil artist, and a judge on the David Shepherd: Wildlife Artist of the Year panel. He said the following about my 2020 entry. But, before you read it, check out his amazing work here www.garyhodges-wildlife-art.com

“Cy Baker’s ‘Meet their Eyes’ is a stunning piece of art. It is expertly and sensitively created… and all the more impressive when you realise that just a biro was used, with no room for mistakes. I absolutely love the way he composed it as well, with a great sense of light and atmosphere.”

 

Alyne and Mike – September 2020

“Having been drawn to the compelling gaze of Cy’s fox and had to settle for a print, being too late to buy the original, we embarked on a commission of Curlews – birds very special to us. Commissioning a picture is a delicate balance between the vision of the client and the skill and creativity of the artist. Too much bias either way can spoil such a collaboration. It was great to work with Cy, in touch with us throughout the process. He made our ideas come to life in a way we had never imagined, and we are totally delighted with the result.”

 

Alice – December 2019

“I commissioned Cy to create a picture of a highland cow using only biro. The finished piece was amazing and way beyond my expectations. The level of detail and accuracy was outstanding. Throughout the process Cy kept me informed and checked I was happy at regular intervals. I would totally recommend Cy to anyone who wants an idea to come to life in a beautiful piece of art.”

Steve and Michelle – November 2019

“We’re massive fans of Cy’s work having first seen him at Living Crafts at Blenheim. We’ve bought one original and several prints. My wife arranged for a commission as a surprise for our anniversary. We’re both absolutely thrilled with the final artwork. Cy has been an absolute pleasure to deal with throughout the commissioning process. The picture has taken pride of place in our home alongside our ever expanding collection. He’s such a talent and we look forward to seeing what masterpieces he produces next.”

Ros and John – October 2019

“We first met Cy at Blenheim Palace two years ago where we saw his fantastic artwork. We pondered on one particular piece, but didn’t go with it at the time….. it’s something we’ve regretted every day since. So, when we met up with Cy again, we commissioned a painting of our own and having now got it on our wall in “pride of place”, we can’t put into words just how thrilled we are and we appreciate even more, the HUGE talent that Cy has and his attention to detail is mind blowing!! Thank you so much Cy, we very much look forward to discussing our next commission with you.”

 

Paul and Debbie – September 2019

“We wanted two paintings for either side of our fireplace, so contacted Cy, having had such a great experience with a previous commission from him. We’re extremely pleased with the final paintings, which look wonderful in our living room. There was a bit of a wait for Cy to complete other commissions, but they were well worth the wait. If you’re thinking of commissioning Cy, don’t hesitate.”

Ian and Sandra – August 2019

“We met Cy at an exhibition and were impressed by how he captures the light in his paintings. We’d never commissioned a painting before but seeing his work inspired us to consider getting a painting of our grandchildren. Cy helped us understand how we could go about getting images suitable for the two paintings we commissioned from him and we settled on two great photos of the kids climbing a tree. Cy used these to great effect, consulting us as he progressed, listening to our views and striving to capture the kids and their characters – he even came round to the house to see them at play and understand them a little better. We’re really pleased with the two paintings. They are excellent depictions of the kids in an environment they love, climbing trees, which we’ll treasure and hand on to them as adults. And working with Cy was a great pleasure too.”


Barry – January 2018

“We look at our picture everyday & Iris loves it, a very special picture of a very special place, with very special memories. Glad we met &Thank you so much. I would definitely use Cy again. Thanks Cy.”
Barry, Wiltshire

Debbie and Andrew – October 2018

“We thoroughly enjoyed the experience of working with Cy on our painting “Southern Rhone”. We had a feeling we wanted him to capture, which took a bit of explaining. He listened and made suggestions and over time he created just what we wanted. He is a lovely person to work with and has a great talent. So creative! I can’t tell you how excited we are to have the painting in our home. He is on his way now to deliver it and we can’t wait!”
Debbie and Andrew, Southampton

Red deer commission
Ros – October 2017

“Cy has painted for me a work which he has called ‘Red Dawn.’ On the canvas, he has captured a group of Red Deer standing in a clearing of early morning dew.
At the onset, the picture that I wanted was not properly formed in my mind, but after three meetings, he was able to create the scene that I was struggling to conjure. The result is astounding, and in the words of my eldest grandson: “How does he do it?” The exciting aspect of this commission was that Cy agreed to let my grandchildren take part in the early creative process; this meant that together they helped me decide on the particular species of deer, the composition, the mood and the context of the painting. Ashton and Ruby were even allowed to put some paint on the canvas 🙂
All the way through, Cy listened to my ideas, even when I changed my mind and he had to create a different colour pallet! I now have a very beautiful – and personal -painting on my wall. It surpasses what I had imagined.
Thank you, Cy.”
Ros, Southampton

Christina – July 2017

“I was the blessed recipient of the amazing crow painting that you were recently commissioned to do. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

To say that I love it just doesn’t capture how the piece helps me to feel. It is hung where I can see it every day, most of the day. Crows are my spirit animal and they help me to feel grounded and at peace, so when I look at it, I feel at home, and there is no better feeling than that.

Your work is amazing and the details astonishing!!! To capture the essence of a crow is very challenging because of its monochromatic colouring, but you have brought it to life with your attention to every detail, no matter how small! The eye is spectacular!

You are beyond talented and I feel incredibly privileged to have a piece of your work.

Thank you again for creating such a magical piece just for me! I am so very grateful.

Much love and gratitude” Christina, Canada

Max – May 2017

Max wanted something special for his Girlfriend’s 21st Birthday.

“It was my first time commissioning a painting. It was for my girlfriend’s 21st, so it had to be something special. I wanted to find something that meant an awful lot to both of us, but also was a stunning centrepiece for the house.

However, the painting was not how I had imagined it. It was even better than I had thought! Cy could not have delivered better on both of those points.

Cy has a true gift for representing the message behind his work, guiding you through the process, as well as going the extra mile and managing to get the piece done for the big day!

Amazing work and I could not be happier – I will definitely ask Cy to do some work in the future. 10/10.”

Matt and Sara – December 2016

A commission for  a birthday present. Below are the reviews from the customer who commissioned the work (Matt) and the recipient (Sara).

Matt:

I’ve never commissioned artwork before so having decided on a special present for my lovely Sara, I suddenly realised how intimidating a plan this might be. How will the artist understand my needs? How will the result compare to my mind’s eye? Will she like it? This had worried me for a couple of years as I wanted to get this right.

Full disclosure; I’d known Cy through other business for a few years but not of his secret talent. Following an unexpected and serendipitous conversation I checked out his website. Maybe you should too.

So, I made my decision to go for it. Not only was the product of this decision exceptional, but the experience of creating it was too. It was fascinating to engage and share views and ideas in the early stages, and see how the work developed from start to finish, and very rewarding.

Cy’s skill, understanding and attention to detail are evident. He captured my vision just so, the style was perfect and throughout his engagement and suggestions had me enthused. Making me feel so involved put aside my worries – he checked every detail to make sure I was happy throughout.

The art itself just blew our minds. The framing and posing, the art style, the sentiment captured, the details being just perfect and the overall impression. I couldn’t have imagined that this could work out so well. I hope that others get to experience Cy’s work in the way I did, his talent just shined through the entire process and is now shining on our wall as a dream realised.

If you are, like me, an amateur appreciator of art, not sure of where to start, appreciative of independent talent and enterprise and maybe in need of a helping hand to get started in strange new sphere, I could not recommend any higher than getting in touch with Cy Baker.

Thanks Cy, amazing job!

Sara:

I love my amazing painting. Cy has captured my beautiful whippets perfectly, their personalities radiate from the canvas. Thank you so much! Sara

Paul – Dec 2015

Paul’s latest commission was for a large (13 square feet) painting of a Black Bear in the woods on his Canadian home.

“The Meeting – my wife commented that she didn’t have enough good descriptive compliments to tell you how much she loved your painting. But I could have started with “atmospheric”, “beautiful”, “creative” and just kept going all the way to “z”.

We started with my idea and with your understanding and creative abilities, and an occasional email suggestion from me, we collaborated and ended up with an amazing “zoological” composition. Those are my trees, my river, my owls and I just need to now meet my bear … it really couldn’t have turned out any better.”

Join me on the journey

See new work and offers, including free tickets to events, before anyone else.